An Apple a Day

Now that I’m back I need to just update a couple of things.  For those of you who were following along on my weight-loss, here’s the skinny.

When our Weight Watchers group was abruptly closed by the company when our leader, who was fabulous, became ill,  I realized the only one I could truly count on in my efforts to lose weight was myself.  My husband is incredibly supportive, but at the end of the day, it was up to me.  As it should be.  But I was scared.

Even the little bit of success I’d had with WW felt like a major achievement and the thing I feared most was putting the weight back on, as I’d done after losing 50 pounds on Nutri-system.  I was NOT going to let that happen.

Over the summer, while I kept my WW online membership, I did not track.  I did, however, try to continue the healthier eating habits we’d established.  I was determined to listen much more closely to my body and give it what it was really needing rather than what I thought it might want.  And I gave up Diet Coke almost completely, switching to water instead.  I now drink approximately 3 to 4 liters of water a day.  I eat salad….and chicken…..and fresh-baked artisan bread.  I eat potatoes and pasta and rice.  I even sometimes eat cake.  All in moderation, of course.  And my body is happy.

The last time I blogged about my weight-loss was April 12th.  I’d lost 12.8 lbs.

This morning I weighed in.  Total loss as of this date:  25.6 lbs.  Yay me.

3 responses to “An Apple a Day

  1. I just got caught up on your summer. Love the direction your blog and your life are heading. Mind, body and art.
    Hugs

  2. OMG. Awesome awesome awesome. The weigh loss is awesome, but more importantly the 3 litres of water each day! That’s even more awesome. Giving your body what it deserves is the most amazing gift you could give. I’m so proud of you my friend. Keep going!

Leave a Reply

