Moonstruck

There was no post here yesterday because I was Moonstruck.  Those who know me know I have a Moon fixation.  It can transfix me in a moment and I’m gone….Moonstruck.

The Little Pink Houses has turned in to a bit of a series.  Our houses are our homes and so much of our heart resides there.  They begin to take on the personalities of those who live there, whether we’re aware of it or not.  They begin to symbolize who we are a little bit and in a way embody the essence of our spirit. They are witness to our most intimate moments and are sometimes our only refuge from the day-to-day chaos of life.  This little house is just a little Moonstruck…..like me.

I began by laying out the basic sketch of what I had in my head.  Lots of roundiness…..I wonder how that happened??

As I sketched very lightly, I had to mess with the photo just to get the lines to show, which is why it’s so grainy.  Then I layered on the STUFF.  You know, that icky masking fluid.  In this case, a very necessary evil.

Yuck.   But, as I was going to do my background in soft pastels, I had to do this in order to keep the crisp detail lines of the shapes.

I’m loving the blendability of these chalks.  They’re just pure fun.  I tried putting dots of the masking fluid in the sky as stars, but it didn’t work.  As I rubbed to blend the pastels most of the dots came off.  No worries.  I have a plan.

But first, I need to fix the pastel in place.  I found this stuff at Card & Stationery and it freaking rocks!!  It did exactly what I needed, which was to seal the pastel, without changing the character of the pastels or the paper.  It’s all about getting the right product for the right job.  The spray I was using before works beautifully to seal acrylic paints, which is what it’s built to do, but didn’t work well on a job it wasn’t designed for.

Once sealed, I can ink right over top the pastels.  Without this step, they’d be getting smeared everywhere and gunking up my pens.

After rubbing the masking fluid off I started laying in the watercolour for my scene.  I did re-apply a bit of the STUFF to the windows on the house, just to keep things crisp.  Remember….let this STUFF dry completely before you try and do anything over top of it.  To not let it dry is to court disaster.  Don’t ask me how I know.

Once all the colour is down, it needs to dry completely again.  Trying to put ink on damp paper is just asking for the paper to slough off.  Then you have to cuss.   Lots.

The inking is just a total blast.  This is the stage where the picture really comes together and starts to develop its own personality.  A few gouache stars finished it up nicely.  I wanted this to be light and whimsical…..almost Seussical.  A place where Horton just might turn up looking for a Who.  A place where you’re welcome to sit a bit and let the Moon cast its spell on you.  A place to be……Moonstruck.

Moonstruck – Little Pink Houses Series

8.25″ x 11.75″

Soft Pastel, Watercolour, Archival Ink, Gouache

4 responses to “Moonstruck

  1. Jennifer Winters

    Wow! So amazing! I am in love with it 🙂

  2. Love it 🙂

  3. This is really cool. You need to show me how to do it!

Leave a Reply

