Iced Green Tea Lemonade

Well, we were right.  I have to eat 10 points less a day than my weight indicates in order to lose weight.  I don’t know if that means that the formula used to calculate points is flawed or if I’m just really resistant to losing.  I’m thinking it’s likely the latter, but it doesn’t really matter.  I know what I have to do now I just have to keep doing it.

One of the things I’ve been working on is cutting aspartame out of my diet.  I’m a Diet Coke addict and it’s one of the things I haven’t been able to completely cut out of my diet.  I’ve gone, however, from drinking probably 2 litres of the stuff a day to one or two cans.  To replace those fluids I’ve been drinking a fair bit of water but I really like flavourful things.  One of my favorite drinks is the Iced Green Tea Lemonade from Starbucks.  Unfortunately, they’re 4 points each.  Yikes.  They’re also about $3 each and there’s no Starbucks in my town anyway.

So after bopping around the internet for a bit I decided to try and come up with something I liked as much as that.  I bought some Tetley flavoured teas.  I don’t drink a lot of hot beverages, but I’m a huge fan of iced tea of any ilk.

They’re both good, but I really like the pomegranate.  It’s very yummy.  I brew a strong pot of the tea with 2 teabags.  After it’s cooled a bit, I put it in a 2 litre jug and top-off with cold water.  I add the juice of half a lemon or two good squirts of bottled lemon juice and then either Splenda or Stevia to taste for sweetness.  It’s not Starbuck’s but it’s close.  My hubby loves it and I’m addicted to it already.  I’ve heard they use Tazo Zen Green Tea to make theirs, so I’m going to pick some up and try it: it has spearmint and lemongrass in it.  That sounds like it would be even more yummy!  And as you can see, the savings are huge when you make this yourself.

Weekly loss:  1.4 lbs.  Total loss:  7.6

5 responses to “Iced Green Tea Lemonade

  1. It’s always fun to try and recreate the things that you would normally buy…I did that with the apple fritters from Starbucks

  2. Maybe? You maybe will bring me some hummus?
    Bring it!

  3. OMG. First of all, I wanna make that tea! Yummers. Can I come over and enjoy a glass this week? And second of all, 7.6?!! Whoot! AND… So proud of you on the aspartame thing.

Leave a Reply

