I’m In Love

Head-over-heels, in fact.  With pastels.

Friday was a dreary day.  Well, ok, it was more than dreary.

After a bit of warm weather this January, it was downright disheartening to open the blinds in my studio and look out at THAT.  *harumpffff*  I was determined, however, to get something, anything done in my studio.  So I turned on every light in the room, got it as bright as I possibly could and hooked up my only really essential non-art-supply.

*Must * Have * Tunes*  I’m sure I could create in silence, but where’s the fun in that?

So I settled in to make a mess.  My Art Guru, Brandy, had encouraged me to take the wrappers off my pastels.  I did it, but it hurt.  Not only did they not all look perfect anymore, by removing the wrappers I found out how many had broken.  Not many, but enough to send me into a good pout.  Then I made a great big mess.

I am NOT exaggerating about the mess.  This stuff gets everywhere.  It was all over the table, all over everything I touched and on my face.  I wish I’d taken a picture of my hands and arms because I had pastelly smears up to my elbows and all over my shirt.  I didn’t take a pic basically because I didn’t want pastel powder all over my camera.  But *O * M * G*….what fun!!!

Brandy had recommended I keep it simple when I started.  I’m all about not setting myself, or anyone else, up for failure.  We fail enough in life as it is without sabotaging ourselves, so I followed her advice.  Apparently I have a very strong affinity for Dr. Seussishness.  I could have dropped Horton into this and he’d have felt right at home.

Soft Pastel & Ink, Sealed

So there you have it.  This little guy (about 5″ x 7″) is my inaugural pastel piece.  It was SO much fun.  I’m addicted.  I’m in love.

 

One response to “I’m In Love

  1. I love it too! I can see a series coming from this, translated into a beautiful set of greeting cards! I know a good printer if you need one 😉

Leave a Reply

