Pretty Pastels

Pastels.  There’s just something about that word.  Say it with me slowly…..passstellsss.  Let the word flow over your tongue and drip off the end, finishing with a smooooooth ssssss.  Now stop laughing.

While the word may invoke feelings of adolescent horror a’la the wretched “Pretty in Pink” or the equally horrifying Country-themed decor of the 90’s with their pale peach and institutional green rooms of terror, it conjures up very different images for me.

If you’ve ever clicked on the Brandy Ink link on my home page, you’ll know what I’m talking about.  When Brandy did her Fruits Gone Wild series I was enchanted.  The depth of colour and positively scrumptious blending blew me away.  Of course, it doesn’t hurt that she’s one of the most talented artists I know, but she inspires me on a daily basis.

So a-hunting I went.  I couldn’t get to my favorite art supply black-hole so I had to settle for Wally World.  *sigh*

They were not what I was after, but they were all I could get.  It was kind of like settling for the small cone when you really want the Peanut Buster Parfait.

I am such a Supply-Snob.  I wanted the good ones…or at least decent quality pastels.  I ordered them from Cowans and waited 6 weeks for them.  Aren’t they beautiful?  I’ve admired them frequently.  That’s it.  They’re so dang pretty I’m totally afraid to touch them.  I don’t want to un-pretty them.  I also don’t have a clue how to use them.  Do I leave the paper on?  But if I do that I can’t use the broad sides for large areas.  If I take it off though, I lose the numbers, which correspond to the little map on the lid.  If I don’t need the numbers and the map why do they put them there???  AAARRRGGGGHHHHH!!!!!   I think I need art-supply counselling.  After all, what’s the use in buying all the stuff if I’m afraid to use it??  The  “what if I suck at pastels?” thingy is a whole different issue, suitable for another day or another counselling session.

And then there’s the problem of paper.

After asking around and being told I could use any good quality paper that had a bit of tooth, I of course spent the big bucks on 24 sheets of dedicated Pastel Paper.  Just because I could.

I have to admit this is pretty skookum paper though.  All the different colours have me wondering what to do with them but I’m determined to figure something out.

So this weekend’s project is to do something, anything, with my pretty pastels and paper.  I’ll report back in on Monday.  Wish me luck!

One response to “Pretty Pastels

  1. Awwh. I so love you. Thanks for the mention! As for the pastels… take off the paper woman! Get dirty. Lose the numbers, you so don’t need em’! And just dive in. Just keep it simple. Pick a simple shape. If you get too complicated, you’re setting yourself up for failure. The simpler, the better. I’m all about “less is more” Don’t OVER blend. Don’t OVER work. think simple. SIMPLE. You love my fruit and the reason you love it is because it’s simple. Got it?

Leave a Reply

