Forgotten Treasures

You all know how much I love art supplies.  Art supply stores are like little black holes for me.  If I disappear over the Event Horizon, or through the front door, I’m going to be in there for a long, long time.

In trying to get back on track creatively I’m in the process of gathering the artistic diaspora that has migrated from my home studio to any number of other places.  Once it’s all back in one place, I feel very spoiled indeed.  I realistically should not need to buy any new art supplies for at least a year or so.  That doesn’t mean I’m not going to buy stuff, just that I won’t need to.

As often happens when I get organizing I unearthed some treasures.  When we went camping last summer I wanted to pack art supplies that were easy to transport, compact, and easy to drag along with me to the beach or wherever.

Strangely enough, I bought these at Staples, rather than an art supply store.  They intrigued me in that they’re self-contained.  Theoretically, all I should need to add to these to be fully equipped would be paper.

They’re really a cool concept.  You just squeeze them a bit and concentrated water-colour paint is fed to the brush tip.  There’s even an empty pen you fill with water for floating and blending, etc.

According to this, you can use them to make beautiful watercolour flower paintings.  If you know how to do beautiful watercolour flower paintings, I guess.  I, alas, do not know how to do that…..yet.  So what I did instead was doodle.

I love a good doodle.  No stress, no strain, no expectations.  So grab some watercolour pens…they were like $22 bucks or something ridiculous like that.  Do a doodle.  I dare ya.

6 responses to “Forgotten Treasures

  1. Jennifer Winters

    Wow! That is one heck of a doodle…I love it!

  2. well I have the pens bought them shortly after seeing yours….the are safely tucked in the drawer of my funky red dresser…..I am the queen of doodle….do I dare unleash them from the drawer!!!!????

  3. I hate to be the one to break it to ya, but this is much more than a doodle! I love it. I wish I could live in that cute little house.

Leave a Reply

