Hubby to the Rescue

I am married to the most patient man on earth.  Seriously.  Not only is he patient, but he’s all about problem-solving.  If I’m going to complain about something, he’s going to look for a solution.

And I was.  Complaining, that is.  I need packaging or labeling for my soap for this weekend’s craft fair.  I’m fussy though.  I don’t want the packaging to be fussy.  Or cute.  Or tacky.  Please, oh please, not tacky.  Something simple that doesn’t cover up how pretty the soap is.  Only one problem:  labeling regulations.

Here in Canada, there are very strict rules around labeling for cosmetics, which is how soap is classed here.  Certain names for ingredients, certain size of fonts, and, of course, the ever-present French-language requirements.  Excuse me for a moment while I cuss……#$%^&*()_)(*&^%$#$%^&*(*&^%&**!!!!!!!!!!!!!

There’s just so much that needs to be on there.  I wanted a simple little square tag in black and white on nice paper with my pretty logo.  Unfortunately, this was going to be nowhere near that simple.  I knew I needed to add the other info but simply drew a blank on how to go about it.

Hubby to the rescue.  After letting me yell at him that “I DON’T WANT A BOX!!!!” after he accidentally suggested a box a second time and dealt with my almost-hysterical “it can’t be tacky, country, froofy, frilly, or another stupid piece of paper wrapped around the bar like everyone else”, he struck gold.

“So make the tag a little fold-out pamphlet”….like the ones that used to come attached to my Murano Glass pendants.  Lots of room for everything inside but just what I want showing on the outside.  Pure genius.

He really is….you know, a genius.  My hubby, my hero.

3 responses to “Hubby to the Rescue

  1. Your tags are awesome Jan and the soap looks good enough to eat. Brilliant idea Rick.

  2. It takes one to know one honey.

Leave a Reply

