That Brick Wall

Ever feel like you’re pounding your head against a brick wall?  That sentence perfectly describes my weekend in a nutshell.  Note the last 4 letters of the previous sentence.

Knowing I only have one week until the Craft Fair has made me a little edgy.  I didn’t even blog on Friday because I wanted to put my energy into finishing some pieces.  It didn’t happen.  It wasn’t for lack of trying but I got pretty much nothing done.  I soldered all my bezels onto my sheet backing using medium solder and it went more smoothly than I could have hoped.  Dropped them all into the pickle and planned on a day of production Saturday.  Didn’t happen.

I pulled the pieces out of the pickle and all the bezels fell off.  Every last one of them.  So began the trouble-shooting.  I used medium solder, which I seldom use and had a bit of trouble getting to flow.  I chalked it up to the large pieces that needed to be heated.  Seems I shouldn’t have.  I also put a fire-coat spray on the pieces to keep the need for polishing down.  I don’t know if it was the spray, the solder, the flux, or what the problem was but it took me several tries to get those dang bezels stuck down.  I’ve never had this problem before and I just wanted to throw something….or several somethings.

I think I’m good-to-go now and I did get some of the cutouts done today before coming to work, but seriously, it was one of the most frustrating situations I’ve ever had since I began building jewelry.  The time-crunch, of course, only added to the aggravation.  I think I’m going to start packing a sledge-hammer around though….for the next brick wall that plunks itself in front of me.

2 responses to “That Brick Wall

  1. Oh trust me, I feel your pain! I’ve been in your situation too many times. It will all work out. If crafting were easy, everyone would be doing it. Craft fair? Creston craft fair? Or?

Leave a Reply

