I Had a Dream

Part of designing and selling my own jewelry has always given me trouble.  How to display it.  I hate even thinking about it.  I see all kinds of creative ideas other people have for displaying their jewelry and am simply in awe of them.  I’ve also changed my jewelry company name 5 times since I started building jewelry.  When I decided on Cara Luna Jewelry for the store it was a good fit.  It did what I wanted it to.  I just don’t feel it’s right for the direction my jewelry is now taking.  Cara Luna will likely remain the name for the company itself, but I wanted something more personal for the new line.

And there’s where the trouble began.  I went blank.  Black blackboard blank.  Try as I might, I couldn’t come up with anything that felt right.  Luckily, I have a mentor.  I’ve mentioned her before and you may have checked out her blog Brandy Ink.  (If you haven’t, you really should.  She’s going to a big art show in Calgary this weekend and is going to be so successful she may never come back.)

Brandy asked me the critical question:  Are you going to use your name on your jewelry designs?  I’ve always resisted using my name because, honestly, it just felt kind of like, well, using my own name lacked humility or something.  That it was hubris to slap my name on my product.  The thing is, though, that what I’m really selling is ME.  MY designs, MY work, Me.  I was still stuck in terms of design, but I knew that my name was what I needed on my designs.  A version of it, anyway:  Jan Mac. That was as far as I got.

Then last night I had a dream.  It was all very Tolkien-esque….very misty and green, swirling fog and cricket chirps.  And bugs.   Lightning-bugs and ladybugs, butterflies and dragonflies all swoopity-fluttering through dew-encrusted meadows and Spanish Moss-draped forests.  Fairylights and brook-burbles were pulling me further into the golden-glowing twilight.  I felt warm, safe, and loved, my bare feet sinking into the cool moss.  As the bugs whirled and twisted through the air they left dazzling little contrails of glowing light that created hanging figures in the night like the designs left by firework sparklers when you whirl them about in the dark and then close your eyes.

Jan Mac Jewelry Logo

So there you have it:  more swirls.  I suppose it was inevitable.  If you look closely you’ll see a “J”, a “M”, and a reversed “J” to form the butterfly-swirly shape.  Then there had to be a dragonfly.  They hover.  You just can’t get any cooler than that.  Dragonflies rock.  So do dreams.  I wish you Sweet Ones.

Leave a Reply

