It’s Working!!

The blog, that is.  When I started this blog, one of the main reasons for doing it was to keep me motivated.  I’m easily distracted and can end up off-task in the blink of an eye.  I get caught up in the planning and never get to the doing.  In short, I needed something that would help keep me going.  That would help get me to FINISH things.

Today was the kind of day that, in the past, would have completely gone off the rails.  I had planned to finish clearing my soap-bench today, but was awakened by a friend who came by to help with some landscaping.  I didn’t know when he was coming and wasn’t really thinking about the possibility of doing yardwork today.  Don’t get me wrong.  It’s not like I had to do much, but I had to be available if he had questions, I had to be there to make some decisions, I had to basically pay attention.

Pre-blog this all would have been enough to scuttle the plans I had for today.  After all, cleaning a garage isn’t really all that appealing and I really wanted to watch the massive hedge in front of my house be reduced by half.  The whole idea of being able to sit in a comfy chair and watch someone else work in my yard while I sipped a simmered Chai tea and ate bonbons  holds a great deal of allure for me.   I’m sure many of you can relate.  But…..

I DIDN’T DO IT!!!

I hauled my lazy, spidey-fearing butt out to the garage and did THIS instead:

and THIS:

and THIS!!

I did it.  I finished it.  One tidy, organized, and clean soapbench, ready to roll.  And all because of the blog and you great people who are following along on this journey of mine.  All because I had a moment of clarity as I stood there debating watching the landscaping;  a moment where the thought that crystallized in my brain was “Oh wow….I HAVE to finish the garage….or I won’t have anything for the BLOG!!”  It’s amazing how much I can get done when motivated.  Yay me!!  And Yay You too!!!

2 responses to “It’s Working!!

  1. Awesome! Don’t blogs rock?

Leave a Reply

