3 Legs and a Handle

Who would have thought that a little device with 3 legs and a handle could make life so much simpler?  The reason there wasn’t a blog entry yesterday is that we had to go out of town….so I got nothing done on the necklace.  I did, however, finally get a tripod for my camera.  I haven’t done the lightbox yet, so the pics are still a little … well …. let’s just say it’s good I leave photography to others and concentrate on building pretty shiny things.

The first thing I needed to do was make some jump rings; lots and lots of jump rings.  The easiest way to do this is to wrap the wire around something of the appropriate diameter as shown and then cut right down the spiral in a straight line.

I cut my jump rings by reversing the blade in my saw, threading the blade through the spiral and then sawing down the spiral, holding the coil firmly.  In effect, what I’m doing is sawing pulling down on the inside rather than trying to fight the curve and saw into the coil from the outside.

I then bent some 16 gauge wire pieces into rough ovals and soldered them together, re-ovalling them when I was done.  Look Mom….I made a new word.

Then, on a steel block, I used the ball end of my ball-peen hammer to hammer some texture onto my oval links.  An oval mandrel is a MUST if you’re going to do something like this.

Lastly, I joined my funky little swirl links to the oval links by soldering jump-rings in-between.  I’ll show you the result once it’s all shiny after a tumble in some stainless steel shot.  As you can see, things are still a little blurry….the result of wanting to really get in close and not checking the photo.  Patience is not something I’m intimately acquainted with.  I’m totally loving the timer on my camera though….reduces some of the jiggly-fuzzy effect.  Good thing this is not, nor ever will be, a blog about photography.

2 responses to “3 Legs and a Handle

  1. I’ve been enjoying your blog Jan. It’s very cool to see how your jewelry creations come together. I think we all take for granted that the silver/gold chain we see all comes from a roll or who knows really. Until I read your blog on hand making your chain I would have never guessed that each tiny link can be hand made! Keep up the great work, not only are you educating us….you are enticing us to buy 🙂

    • Thanks Sharon….I’m so glad you’re following along. The blog is helping to keep me motivated. A bit of trivia about machine-made chain…most often, those skinny little wires you see on fine chain are…..wait for it…..HOLLOW!! It’s how they keep the weight down so they can charge more based on appearance rather than metal costs…sneaky, huh? That’s why so many chains are so light…and soooo hard to fix.

Leave a Reply

